Thursday, April 26, 2012

Pierce College Fort Steilacoom makes the list of top 120 colleges in the nation for second straight year

Pierce College Fort Steilacoom makes the list of top 120 colleges in the nation for second straight year

For the second time in as many years, the Aspen Institute College Excellence Program has named PierceCollege Fort Steilacoom to its list of the nation’s 120 best community colleges for its high standards for learning, college completion without delay, and service as a training ground for jobs that pay competitive wages.

Pierce is one of only six colleges in Washington to be named to the prestigious list.

“Earning this recognition from the Aspen Institute for the second year in a row validates the quality of people and programs we have here, as well as the motivation and hard work of our students. It’s an honor to be recognized on a national level for the work we do at Pierce College,” said Denise Yochum, president of Pierce College Fort Steilacoom.

Inclusion on the list makes Pierce College Fort Steilacoom eligible to compete for the $1 million AspenPrize for Community College Excellence.

“The success of our nation’s community colleges is more important than ever before,” said Aspen Institute College Excellence Program Executive Director Josh Wyner on Tuesday at the annual convention of the American Association of Community Colleges in Orlando, Fla.  “At a time when a college degree is essential to entering the middle class, community colleges like Pierce College Fort Steilacoom offer the most promising path to education and employment for literally millions of Americans.”

Pierce College Fort Steilacoom is now eligible to submit an application to compete for the prestigious honor, sparking a year-long research process into how well students learn, complete degrees, and get jobs with competitive wages after graduating.

The Aspen Institute will conduct site visits to each of the eight to 10 finalists in September. Based on the evidence, the prize jury will select a grand prize winner and four runners-up, to be announced in March 2013.

The full list of eligible institutions can be found at

Media Contact Information
Amanda Haines, communications specialist

No comments:

Post a Comment